Academic Registry and Council Secretariat

Governance menu


Council is the governing body of Queen Mary University of London. Comprising twenty one members, of whom 12 are external, Council is responsible for overseeing the strategic mission, direction and affairs of the institution. Council sits at the pinnacle of Queen Mary's corporate governance framework.

Council convenes five times a year. In order to undertake its duties effectively, Council delegates decision-making in designated areas of Queen Mary activities to its sub-committees, including Finance and Investment Committee, Audit and Risk Committee, Governance Committee and Remuneration Committee. Senate, which has oversight of academic activity, also reports to Council, and has its own sub-committees. 

Executive authority for development and implementation of Queen Mary's Strategy 2030 and wider strategic framework rests with the Senior Executive Team (SET). The university's Delegation Framework [PDF 280KB] details authority for decision-making in both the executive and governance spheres.

The membership and responsibilities of SET can be found on the Principal's webpages.  

The Secretary to Council is Jonathan Morgan. Please contact Nadine Lewycky, Assistant Registrar (Governance) in the first instance. 

Meeting dates 2019-20

  • Thursday 10 October 2019, 1600 hours, Colette Bowe Room
  • Thursday 21 November 2019, 1600 hours, Colette Bowe Room
  • Thursday 26 March 2020, 1600 hours, Colette Bowe Room
  • Thursday 21 and Friday 22 May 2020 – Residential conference including Council meeting
  • Thursday 9 July 2020, 1600 hours, Colette Bowe Room

Meeting papers

Agendas, minutes and papers relating to Council can be found here

Return to top